ATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSIN ONSUMER SER
DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNI
DIVISION OF CODES AND STANDARDS

Registration and Titling Program
P.O. Box 2111, Sacramento, CA 95812-2111
(916) 323-9224 / 1-800-952-8356

FAX (916) 263-5405

California Relay Service for Hearing-Impaired
From TDD Phones: 1-800-735-2929

From Voice Phones: 1-800-735-2922
www.hcd.ca.gov

AND HO

A NG AGEN
TY DEVELOPMENT

Private Party Sale for a Home on Yearly Registration Renewal with
DMV Ownership Certificate (Pink Slip)

IMPORTANT: Please return this letter with the items requested below to the above address.

The following are instructions on how to transfer ownership of a manufactured home or mobilehome sold by
someone other than a licensed California dealer when all of the following apply:

1) The home is titled with DMV (pink slip).

2) The home is subject to yearly registration renewal, also known as vehicle license fee (VLF), and bears
a DMV license plate or decal.

In order to transfer ownership of a home meeting the above criteria, the following documents and fees must be
submitted to the address shown above:

1) The original DMV Ownership Certificate (Pink Slip) signed off by all owners printed on the pink slip. The
new owners should complete the “New Owner Information” area and sign where appropriate. If the
original pink slip has been lost, an Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (form HCD RT 480.4) can
be completed and submitted with a $25 duplicate fee.

NOTE: If the unit is registered under more than one pink slip, only one duplicate is required.

2) The original last issued registered owner’s Registration Card(s) or, if lost, an Application for Duplicate
Registration Card (form HCD 481.2) completed and submitted with a $25 duplicate fee.

3) Application for Registration (form HCD RT 480.5) completed in full and signed by each new owner.
Include the length, width and insignia number(s) of the mobilehome on the form.

4) Certificate of Retail Value and Purchase Price (form HCD 476.4) completed and signed by buyers.
Compute Use Tax and pay that amount in addition to any other fees required. Use Tax is due unless
evidence of an exemption can be presented. Exemption evidence can be presented using a form BOE
111 from the Board of Equalization or the Reason For Use Tax and/or Mobilehome Recovery Fund Fee
Exemption portion of the Multi-Purpose Transfer Form (form HCD 476.6G) completed and signed by
buyers.
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5) Multi-Purpose Transfer Form (form HCD 476.6G) completed in the appropriate sections and signed by
all new buyers.

6) Transfer Fee $35
Transfer Fee Penalty $25 (due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
Mobilehome Recovery Fund Fee $10 (due for each sale after 01/01/2008)
Lien Registration Fee $25 (due if adding, changing or deleting lender)
Duplicate Title Fee $25 (due if duplicate submitted)
Duplicate Registration Card Fee $25 (due if duplicate submitted)
Use Tax Fee *
Use Tax Fee Penalty ** (due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
Renewal Fees o

*Use Tax is based on either the Purchase Price or the Kelley Blue Book or N.A.D.A. Appraisal
Guide Book, whichever is lesser. If you need a book value quote, you may fax page 2 of the
completed Retail Value form to (916) 263-4712.

**Renewal fees are due if current registration will expire within 60 days. If the registration

is delinquent, renewal fees and penalties are due. If you do not know the amount due, you
may click on Mobilehome Registration Renewal to determine the amount due. If you own

the land on which the mobilehome is located, the Park Purchase Fund Fee is not due. To
establish an exemption from payment of this fee, complete the “Park Purchase Fee Exemption”
portion on the Multi-Purpose Transfer Form (form HCD 476.6G).

Make CHECK OR MONEY ORDER payable to HCD and show the DECAL NUMBER.

Please mail to: HCD
P.O. Box 2111
Sacramento, CA 95812-2111

Basic transfer requirements and fees must be postmarked and/or received by HCD within 20 calendar days
from the date of sale to avoid transfer penalties.

If after a review of your application additional fees and/or documents are required, your application will be
returned to you with further instructions for completing your transaction.

If you have any questions regarding the above requirements or forms, please call 1-800-952-8356 for
assistance.

For office locations, please click here for a list of DISTRICT OFFICES.

For clarification of some of the terminology, please click here for a list of DEFINITIONS.
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