Occupational Licensing Examinations

The Dealer Examination fee is $110.00 and the Salesperson Examination fee is $86.00. The Dealer Examination consists of 75 multiple choice questions and applicants are allowed two (2) hours to complete the exam. The Salesperson Examination consists of 50 multiple choice questions and applicants are allowed one and a half (1.5) hours to complete the exam. Both Examinations require a minimum score of 70 percent to pass. A complete list of Occupational Licensing fees may be found in Title 25, California Code of Regulations, section 5040 .

HCD administers examinations for MH-unit or CM dealer or salesperson licenses at HCD’s Codes and Standards Main Office in Sacramento and at three (3) HCD Registration and Titling District Offices. The examinations are multiple choice and cover the requirements of the laws and/or regulations specific to the type of license the applicant is requesting.

Some documents that may be helpful in preparing for the Occupational Licensing examination include:

Please Note: It is strongly recommended that an appointment be made to take an exam. Space is limited and appointments take priority over walk-in applicants.

Contact: (800) 952-8356 or OL@hcd.ca.gov

Exam Locations:
Address Testing Time
Southern Area Office
3737 Main Street, Suite 400
Riverside, CA 92501
Street Map *
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Codes and Standards Main Office
9342 Tech Center Drive, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95826
Street Map *
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
El Cajon District Office
1530 Hilton Head Road, Suite 107
El Cajon, CA 92019
Street Map *
Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
San Luis Obispo District Office
3220 South Higuera Street, Room 103B
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Street Map *
Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

* The maps to our offices listed above are provided by "Google Maps." The products and services advertised are not promoted or endorsed by the California Department of Housing and Community Development.