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INTRODUCTION 
 
 
This booklet is provided by the Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD), 
Division of Codes and Standards to provide basic information about the requirements for 
obtaining HCD Occupational Licenses (OL). 
 
The requirements are based on the statutes (laws) and regulations in effect at the time this 
booklet was printed.  Should any of the information stated herein become superseded by 
changes to the laws or regulations, the information in this publication is superseded.  
 
The HCD OL requirements in this booklet pertain to the manufacture and sale of manufactured 
homes (which by definition includes mobilehomes and multi-unit manufactured housing) and 
commercial modulars, which are defined in Health and Safety Code (HSC) Sections 18001.8, 
18007, 18008 and 18008.7 respectively.  HCD OL licenses are not required for the manufacture 
or sale of recreational vehicles, special purpose commercial modulars, or factory-built housing 
which are defined in HSC Sections 18009.3, 18010, 18012.5 and 19971 respectively.  The 
California Department of Motor Vehicles’ (DMV) occupational licensing requirements apply to 
the manufacture and sale of recreational vehicles, park trailers and special purpose commercial 
modulars. 
 
HCD urges persons applying for an HCD OL license to obtain HCD’s Occupational Licensing 
Study Guide, currently available from LexisNexis a professional publishing company under 
contract with HCD.  Contact LexisNexis to purchase the guide, which is currently priced at $26, 
including tax and shipping:  
 
Online: www.lexisnexis.com/bookstore Once you get to its website, use the 
website search engine to search for “California Housing” to simplify the search. 
 
By telephone:      
Phone: 1-800-533-1637    
Facsimile: 1-800-828-8341    

By Mail:  
Attn: Order Fulfillment  
LexisNexis  
1275 Broadway  
Albany, NY 12214-4071 

 

https://store.lexisnexis.com/home
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A free downloadable copy is also available on the HCD website.  The guide contains many of 
the laws and regulations governing manufactured housing, multi-unit manufactured housing, 
and commercial modulars, including those referenced herein, and are is used as the basis for 
the HCD OL examinations for dealer and salesperson applicants.   
 
Note: This procedure is subject to change, as determined by HCD and its chosen publishing 
vendor. 
 
 
You may find the applicable laws at: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html and the applicable 
regulations at: http://ccr.oal.ca.gov/.  You may also find the laws and regulations at a public law 
library or the laws and regulations may be purchased from Barclays Law Publisher at 
http://www.barclaysccr.com/about.htm.  You may obtain cost information and order publications 
from Barclay’s via their toll free number (800) 888-3600 or mail orders to them at  
P.O. Box 95767, Chicago, IL 60694. 
 

 
 

 
TYPES OF HCD OL LICENSES 

 
Any person in the business of manufacturing, distributing, selling or leasing manufactured 
homes, multi-unit manufactured housing, or commercial modulars shall possess a valid HCD OL 
license.  Licenses are issued to manufacturers, distributors, dealers and salespersons.  All 
licenses are issued for a term of two years.  The following is a brief description of the different 
types of licensee classifications: 
 
 
1.  MANUFACTURER ($1164 plus a $13 applicant verification fee if applicable.) 
 
A manufacturer is any person, partnership, corporation, firm or business producing from any 
location (including outside of California) a manufactured home, multi-unit manufactured housing, 
or commercial modular for delivery to dealers or distributors for sale in California. 
 
 
2.  DISTRIBUTOR ($1164 plus a $13 applicant verification fee if applicable.) 
 
A distributor is any person, partnership, corporation, firm or business other than a manufacturer, 
who sells or distributes new manufactured homes, multi-unit manufactured housing, or 
commercial modulars to dealers. 
 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
http://ccr.oal.ca.gov/
http://www.barclaysccr.com/about.htm
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3.  DEALER ($1164 plus a $250 MHRF fee and a $13 applicant verification fee if applicable.  
The MHRF fee is not collected for applicants selling only commercial modulars.  A $100 MHRF 
fee is applicable for any additional business location.) 
 
A dealer is any person, partnership, corporation, firm or business proposing to purchase new 
manufactured homes, multi-unit manufactured housing, or commercial modulars from a 
manufacturer or distributor or proposing to induce others to purchase or sell new or used 
manufactured homes, multi-unit manufactured housing, or commercial modulars. 
 
Exception:  Persons holding a valid real estate brokers license issued by the California 
Department of Real Estate (DRE) may sell manufactured homes, which have been registered 
with HCD or have been installed on a foundation system pursuant to HSC Section 18551.  
Business and Professions Code Section 10131.6 provides additional information on permissible 
manufactured home sales by real estate brokers. 
 
 
4.  SALESPERSON ($219 plus a $25 MHRF fee and a $13 applicant verification fee if 

applicable.  The MHRF fee is not collected for applicants selling only commercial modulars.) 
 
A salesperson is any person employed by a dealer to sell, lease, or buy a manufactured home, 
multi-unit manufactured housing, or commercial modular; salespersons induce others to sell, 
lease, or buy a new or used manufactured home, multi-unit manufactured housing, or 
commercial modular.  There are specific activities that do not require a person to obtain a 
salespersons license.  HSC Section 18013 identifies the activities that permit exceptions to the 
licensing requirement. 
 
 
5.  90-DAY CERTIFICATE ($134 plus a $25 MHRF fee and a $13 applicant verification fee.  
The MHRF fee is not collected for applicants selling only commercial modulars.) 
 
For persons who wish to try manufactured home sales without first meeting the education and 
examination requirements, HCD may, on a one-time-only basis, issue a 90-day certificate to an 
applicant for a salesperson’s license.  This certificate permits the person to exercise the 
privileges granted by the license, with certain restrictions and under direct supervision by the 
employing dealer or a designated supervising managing employee, for a period not to exceed 
90 days from the date of issuance.  They cannot execute any documents, contracts, or listing 
agreements; or accept any monies in a sale, or lease.  The education and examination 
prerequisites for obtaining a salesperson license must be completed prior to applying for a 
regular salesperson license. 
 
Exceptions:   
1. Persons holding a valid real estate salespersons license issued by DRE and employed by a 
licensed real estate broker can sell manufactured homes, which have been registered with HCD 
or have been installed on a foundation system pursuant HSC Section 18551. 
 
2. A licensed California general building contractor may sell new or used manufactured home or 
multi-unit manufactured housing pursuant to the conditions of HSC 18062.9. 
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HCD OL LICENSE ELIGIBILITY 
 
 
License eligibility, notwithstanding applicant verification requirements, educational prerequisites 
and licensing exams, which are explained below, is determined by HSC Sections 18050.5, 
18050.7 and 18053, and the applicable regulations.   
 
APPLICANT VERIFICATION REQUIREMENT 
 
In 1996, the U.S. Congress enacted federal legislation known as the Personal Responsibility 
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act.  States are required to carryout the provisions of that 
enactment by assuring that only US citizens and qualified aliens are provided public benefits, 
which include manufacturer, distributor, dealer and salesperson licenses.  Because of that 
enactment, effective April 6, 1998, all license applicants must first be verified that they are either 
U.S. citizens or qualified aliens prior to a license prerequisites review.  U.S. citizens may submit 
a copy of their birth certificate, U.S. passport, naturalization certificate, etc.  Qualified aliens 
(typically any lawfully admitted alien who is authorized to work in the U.S.) may submit a copy of 
their Immigration and Naturalization Service document (“green card,” etc.) or their entry point 
visa stamp on their foreign passport.  California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5806(b) 
defines an applicant as a “person”, not a partnership or corporation; therefore, partnerships and 
corporations are excluded from this requirement.  HCD charges a $13 processing fee for 
verifying that the applicant qualifies for a public benefit such as a license. 
 



 

 5

 

 
 
 
BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION REQUIREMENT 
 
Background investigations are conducted on all applicants to determine eligibility; to protect 
buyers; and to protect sellers.  An applicant’s failure to disclose all facts or information as 
requested on the application forms may result in the refusal to issue a license to the applicant.   
 
Applicants will be required to submit fingerprints through the California Department of Justice 
(DOJ) live scan fingerprinting program, unless exempted by DOJ to use fingerprint cards.  HCD 
requires a specific form for applicants to use for DOJ’s live scan program.  If you feel you are 
exempt (the most common exemption is for out-of-state manufacturers), contact the OL section 
for additional directions and for fingerprint cards.  
 
Persons with business or personal history irregularities may submit an abbreviated application, 
as specified in California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5021, for a manufacturer’s, 
dealer’s, or distributor’s license, in order to learn of their eligibility before complying with the full 
application requirements of California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5020. 
 
Note: A salespersons license does not qualify for an abbreviated application. 
 
Note: A Probationary License may be issued in-lieu of a license refusal, if the “irregularity” is 
isolated; if it is determined that the applicant is rehabilitated; and there appears to be no 
significant risk for consumers. 
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EDUCATIONAL PREREQUISITES FOR HCD OL LICENSES 
(Must be completed before submitting an application) 

 
1.  SALESPERSON 
 
a.  Each person proposing to apply for a salesperson license must have attended an HCD 

approved six-hour preliminary education program prior to applying for the license 
examination.  Information about approved preliminary education course providers is 
available at any of the HCD offices listed on page 9 or on our website at: 
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol. 

 
At the conclusion of a preliminary education program, the course provider will issue a 
Certificate of Completion to each person completing the course.  The Certificate of 
Completion is valid for a period of six months and must be presented to HCD when 
applying to take the license examination. 
 
Exception:  The preliminary and continuing education requirements do not apply to persons 
applying for a license to sell only commercial modulars.  For other exceptions, refer to 
California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5302. 

 
b. Applicants shall have arranged for prospective employment with a dealer who must sign the 

application, indicating their intention to employ the applicant as a salesperson, once properly 
licensed. 

 
2.  DEALER 
 
a. Each person requesting a dealer license to sell manufactured homes (not applicable to 

commercial modular only dealers) shall have held a valid salesperson’s license issued by 
HCD for two years out of the five years immediately preceding filing the dealer application, or 
shall have the equivalent education and/or work experience as specified in HSC Section 
18050.7. 

 
b. Each person that applies for a dealer license to sell manufactured homes and multi-unit 

manufactured housing (not applicable to commercial modular only dealers) shall have 
attended an HCD approved six-hour preliminary education course prior to applying to take 
the license examination.  Information about approved preliminary education course providers 
is available at any of the HCD offices listed on page 9 or on our website at: 
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol. 

https://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol
https://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol
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At the conclusion of a preliminary education course, the course provider will issue a 
Certificate of Completion to each person completing the program.  The Certificate of 
Completion is valid for a period of six months, and must be presented to HCD when 
applying to take the license examination. 
 
Exception:  The preliminary education requirement does not apply to persons applying for a 
license to sell only commercial modulars. For other exceptions, refer to California Code of 
Regulations, Title 25, Section 5302. 

 
c. The applicant shall possess an established place of business that complies with all 

requirements of HSC Section 18045.5 and California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 
5013.  The place of business shall have an office and be in compliance with local 
construction standards and zoning regulations. 

 
3.  MANUFACTURER 
 

Though no educational prerequisites are required for a manufacturer’s license, applicants 
must possess an established place of business that complies with all requirements of HSC 
Section 18045.5 and California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5012.  The place of 
business shall have an office and a manufacturing area that complies with local conditions 
and zoning regulations. 
 

Notes:  
1. Prior to licensing and the construction of their structures, manufacturers of commercial 
modulars, special purpose commercial modulars, factory-built housing and multi-unit 
manufactured housing units must obtain the services of two types of HCD certified “Third 
Party” agencies.  The two types of agencies are known as a Design Approval Agency 
and Quality Assurance Agency.   
 
2. Manufacturers of manufactured homes must obtain the services of an approved design 
approval inspection and production inspection agency certified by the U. S. Department 
of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). 
 
You can obtain additional information about manufacturer requirements and HCD 
approved third party agencies at: http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/mhp/ 

http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/mhp/


 

 8

 

 
 
 

HCD OL LICENSE EXAMINATION 
 
Before an application for a manufactured home, multi-unit manufactured housing, or commercial 
modular dealer or salesperson’s license will be accepted for processing, applicants must 
successfully complete a manufactured home, multi-unit manufactured housing, or commercial 
modular examination.  The successful completion of the examination is valid for a period not to 
exceed six months. 
 
Examinations consist of multiple choice questions based on the California laws and regulations 
governing the sale of manufactured homes, multi-unit manufactured housing, and commercial 
modulars.  Applicants for a dealer’s license pay $110 for the exam and are permitted 120 
minutes to complete 75 questions.  Applicants for a salesperson license pay $86 for the exam 
and are permitted 90 minutes to complete 50 questions.  There is no limit on the number of 
times an applicant may attempt an examination, but a fee will be charged for each examination 
taken.  A minimum score of 70 percent is required to pass the examination. 
 
Referring to the study guide or notes, or the taking of notes, is not permitted during the 
examination.  Using cell phones or discussing the exam with other exam applicants, customers 
or non-HCD staff is not permitted during the exam.  Anyone found cheating while taking the 
exam will be automatically failed.  Once the examination answer sheet has been corrected, 
review of the examination booklet or the answer sheet is not permitted. 
 
The examination may be taken Monday through Friday during specific times, except state and 
federal holidays, at any of the offices listed below.  Please contact the office where you wish to 
take the examination at for an appointment.  



 

 9

 
PREPARING FOR THE DEALER AND SALESPERSON EXAMINATION 
 
As indicated earlier, the examination questions are based on HCD’s Occupational Licensing 
Examination Study Guide which consists of applicable portions of the various laws and 
regulations governing manufactured home, multi-unit manufactured housing, and commercial 
modular sales.  Additionally as mentioned earlier applicants for manufactured home and multi-
unit manufactured housing licenses, must attend a six hour HCD approved preliminary 
education course which should help prepare the applicant for the examination.   
 

EXAM LOCATIONS AND WHERE TO OBTAIN APPLICATION FORMS 
 
 ____________________________________________________________Test Times_ 

La Mesa (San Diego) 
7777 Alvarado Road, Suite 302 

  (619) 645-2960 
La Mesa, CA 91941    9am – 2:30pm 

Redding
2986 Bechelli Lane, Suite 201

     (530) 224-4815
Redding, CA 96002  

 
   9am – 2:30pm 

Riverside
3737 Main Street, Suite 400

     (951) 782-4431
Riverside, CA 92501 

 
        8:30am – 2:30pm 

Sacramento
9342 Tech Center Drive, Suite 550 

     (916) 255-2532 
Sacramento, CA 95826  9am – 2:30pm 

San Jose
100 Paseo de San Antonio, Room 306

     (408) 277-1211
San José, CA 95113

 
   9am – 2:30pm 

San Luis Obispo
3220 South Higuera, Room 103 B 

    (805) 549-3373 
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 9am – 2:30pm 

Santa Ana
2000 E. 4th Street, Suite 304 

     (714) 558-4974 
Santa Ana, CA 92705   9am – 2:30pm 

Winnetka (Los Angeles)  
20201 Sherman Way, Suite 106 

 (818) 717-5267 
Winnetka, CA 91306   9am – 2:30pm 

 
Important Note:  

It is recommended that an appointment be made with the appropriate office to take an 
exam, since exam times may change, space is limited, and appointments will take 
priority over walk-in applicants. 

 
 
Please call the HCD office most conveniently located to you and make an examination 
appointment.  OL application forms may be downloaded online at: 
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol/olforms.html or by contacting the HCD OL Program by e-mail at 
OL@hcd.ca.gov , or by mail at POB 31, Sacramento, CA 95812-0031 or by telephone at (916) 
323-9803. 

http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol/olforms.html
mailto:OL@hcd.ca.gov
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APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
Forms, applications and fees necessary for applying for an HCD OL license are specified in 
California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Sections 5020 and 5040.  In addition to the application 
requirements specified in California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5020 and 5040, 
Health and Safety Code Section 18070.1 requires that before a new or renewed license is 
issued, each applicant for a dealer’s or salesperson’s license to sell manufactured homes or 
multi-unit manufactured housing, shall pay a one time fee ($250 for a dealer’s main location and 
$100 for each additional location; and $25 for salespersons) for deposit into the Manufactured 
Home Recovery Fund (MHRF). 
 
The MHRF allows buyers, sellers, and investors to recover a financial loss associated with the 
purchase or sale of a manufactured home or multi-unit manufactured housing. 
 
Exception:  The MHRF fee does not apply to dealers or salespersons applying for a license to 
sell only commercial modulars and it does not apply to any manufacturers. 
 

Notes: 
1:  Applicants will be required to submit fingerprints to the California Department of Justice 
(DOJ) using a DOJ approved live scan facility, unless approved to use fingerprint cards 
because there is no live scan facility nearby. 
 
2:  Section 5020 requires that two facial photographs to be submitted as part of the 
application.  If you do not have photographs meeting the required specifications, the HCD 
offices listed on page 7 will take the required facial photographs for the fee specified in 
California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Section 5040 ($1.50 per photo). 

 
TIME REQUIRED FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS 
 
Within seven days of receipt of an application, HCD’s Occupational Licensing Section in 
Sacramento will review and either accept the application for filing or reject it for being 
incomplete or if it contains errors.  If there are no issues with the application a Temporary Permit 
will be mailed to you.  If rejected, you will be informed of the deficiencies that must be corrected 
in order to make the application acceptable for processing. 
 
 
TEMPORARY PERMITS 
 
120-Day Permit:  After an application is accepted for processing, a background investigation is 
commenced of HCD license records, DOJ criminal records, and any other pertinent information 
related to education, experience, character, honesty, integrity, and reputation.  At this point HCD 
may issue a temporary permit valid for a period not to exceed 120 days pending the completion 
of the background investigation.  This temporary permit is sent to the applicant by U.S. mail; it is 
not issued over the counter at any HCD office.   
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COMMON CAUSES FOR APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS AND REJECTIONS 
 
The most common causes for application rejection are: 
 
a.  Incomplete application forms; for example, missing signature(s); missing dates, missing 

information, not answering all applicable questions; not providing employment history for the 
number of required years; not providing all requested information about criminal convictions 
or civil judgments; and not submitting applicant verification documentation if required. 

 
b. Insufficient education and/or work experience for manufactured home or multi-unit 

manufactured housing dealer license applications. 
 
c. Incorrect fees (the fees in this booklet have been updated to reflect the most current fees as 

of the time of this printing). 
 
d. Salesperson applications not signed by the sponsoring dealer. 
 
e. Fingerprints found by the Department of Justice to be unclassifiable (messy or smeared). 
 
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
OL forms can also be downloaded online at the web site address below.  If more information or 
clarification is necessary, please call the HCD’s OL Program at (916) 323-9803, visit our web 
site at http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol, or send an email to ol@hcd.ca.gov. 
 
Department of Housing and Community Development 
Division of Codes and Standards 
Occupational Licensing Program 
P.O. Box 31 
Sacramento, CA  95812-0031 

 

http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol
mailto:ol@hcd.ca.gov
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