Helping to resolve certain disputes between mobilehome/manufactured homeowners in mobilehome parks and park owners/management

Sometimes, in mobilehome parks, disputes can arise between mobilehome/manufactured homeowners and park management. To help resolve some of these disputes, California created the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program (MRLPP) through the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Act of 2018, Assembly Bill 3066.

Annual $10 fee for mobilehome lots — Have you been charged an additional $10 by park management?
This fee is designed to serve mobilehome/manufactured homeowners through the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program. As of January 1, 2019, park management is required to pay $10 for each mobilehome lot within their park. Park management has the option to pass this fee along to you. In the event of certain types of disputes between mobilehome/manufactured homeowners in mobilehome parks and park management, the fee funds a program to help resolve certain disputes.

When can I submit a complaint for consideration?
Beginning July 1, 2020, any mobilehome/manufactured homeowner living in a mobilehome park under a rental agreement may submit a complaint for an alleged violation of the Mobilehome Residency Law.

Who can submit a complaint?
Must be a mobilehome / manufactured homeowner residing in a permitted mobilehome park.

What types of complaints can be submitted for consideration?
Complaints for issues within mobilehome parks related to Mobilehome Residency Law violations (California Civil Code). Common violations include illegal grounds for eviction, failure to provide proper notice of rent increases, or no written rental agreement between the park and mobilehome owner.

How do I submit my complaint?
Complaints must be submitted to HCD. HCD provides assistance to help resolve and coordinate resolution of the most severe alleged violations of the Mobilehome Residency Law. Visit the How to Submit a Complaint page for details on ways to submit your complaint to HCD.

Please note: HCD is prohibited from arbitrating, mediating, negotiating, or providing legal advice in connection with mobilehome park rent disputes, lease or rental agreements, or disputes arising from rental or lease agreements.

How long will the program last?
The Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program is a limited-term program beginning July 1, 2020, and ending January 1, 2024 (unless the program is extended by the California Legislature).

Have a Mobilehome Residency Law question?
Please visit Your Rights as Mobilehome Park Resident for more information.

For questions regarding the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program, please refer to Information Bulletin 2018-03 (PDF) and Information Bulletin 2021-05 (PDF) or email: MRLComplaint@hcd.ca.gov.

Annual $10 fee for each permitted mobilehome lot.
As of January 1, 2019, mobilehome park owners/operators are required to pay an annual $10 fee for each permitted mobilehome lot to the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD). (Note: In areas where mobilehome parks are permitted by a local enforcement agency [as opposed to HCD], the local enforcement agency must collect the fees from mobilehome park owners/operators and forward the fees to HCD.)

  • When is the fee due from the park owners/operators?
    The fee is due at the same time as the mobilehome park annual Permit to Operate fee.
  • Can some or all of the fee be passed on to the individual homeowners within the mobilehome park?
    Yes. Within 90 days from payment of the annual Permit to Operate fee to HCD, the mobilehome park owner/operator may pass on all or a portion of the fee to individual homeowners within the mobilehome park.
  • If I opt to pass on part or all of the fee, how must I do it?
    The annual $10 fee for each permitted lot may be collected from each homeowner in part or in whole at the time rent is due; however: management is not allowed to pass on the fee in the form of a rent increase. Instead:
    • The fee must appear as a separate line item on the bill.
    • The bill must include:
      • A clear, written description of the purpose of the charge: [Sample language] Beginning January 1, 2019, the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) will collect a $10.00 fee for each permitted mobilehome lot within each mobilehome park. This fee is collected to administer the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Act (Act). The Act established a program to create a link between mobilehome/manufactured homeowners and legal representation for Mobilehome Residency Law (MRL) disputes. Beginning July 1, 2020, HCD will provide assistance by taking MRL complaints and will coordinate the resolution of the most severe alleged violations of the MRL received.
      • HCD’s contact information: [Sample language] For questions regarding this fee or Act, please contact HCD at MRLComplaint@hcd.ca.gov or 800-952-8356.

When can a mobilehome/manufactured homeowner submit a complaint for consideration?
Beginning July 1, 2020, any mobilehome/manufactured homeowner may submit a complaint for an alleged violation of the Mobilehome Residency Law.

Who can submit a complaint?
Must be a mobilehome / manufactured homeowner residing in a permitted mobilehome park.

What types of complaints can be submitted for consideration?
Complaints for issues within mobilehome parks related to Mobilehome Residency Law violations (California Civil Code). Common violations include illegal grounds for eviction, failure to provide proper notice of rent increases, or no written rental agreement between the park and mobilehome owner.

How does a mobilehome/manufactured homeowner submit their complaint?
Complaints must be submitted to HCD. HCD provides assistance to help resolve and coordinate resolution of the most severe alleged violations of the Mobilehome Residency Law. Visit the How to Submit a Complaint page for details on ways to submit your complaint to HCD.

Please note: HCD is prohibited from arbitrating, mediating, negotiating, or providing legal advice in connection with mobilehome park rent disputes, lease or rental agreements, or disputes arising from rental or lease agreements.

How long will the program last?
The Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program is a limited-term program beginning July 1, 2020, and ending January 1, 2024 (unless the program is extended by the California Legislature).

For additional information regarding the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program (AB 3066, 2018) please refer to Information Bulletin 2018-03 (PDF) and Information Bulletin 2021-05 (PDF).

Law

The law establishing the Department's Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program (MRLPP) and related activities is contained in the California Health and Safety Code, part 2.2, commencing with section 18800.

The rights and obligations of mobilehome park homeowners, tenants and management may be found in the Mobilehome Residency Law Handbook, courtesy of the California Senate Select Committee on Manufactured Home Communities. For previous versions of the Mobilehome Residency Law Handbook, please visit California Senate Select Committee on Manufactured Home Communities.

Regulations

Regulations created and enforced by the Department to implement, interpret, and clarify the law are currently under development. Once finalized, they can be found in California Code of Regulations, Title 25, Division 1, Chapter 3.5, commencing with Section 4900.

MRLPP Regulations (DOC) — Filed with Secretary of State May 6, 2021

Request for Assistance / Complaint — Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program (PDF) — This form can be submitted to file a Mobilehome Residency Law related complaint. You may also use HCD’s online portal to file a complaint online.

Reasonable Accommodation Request, form HCD MAC 430 (PDF) — This form can be submitted to request a reasonable accommodation. A reasonable accommodation is a change, exception, or adjustment to a rule, policy, practice or service that may be necessary for a person with a disability to have an equal opportunity to participate in the MRLPP. Submit a Reasonable Accommodation Request to HCD as soon as possible to avoid any delay in the complaint process.

  • Solicitud de Acomodación Razonable, formulario HCD MAC 430 SP (PDF) — Este formulario puede ser presentado para solicitar acomodación razonable. Una acomodación razonable es un cambio, excepción o ajuste a una norma, política, práctica o servicio que puede ser necesaria para que una persona con discapacidad tenga iguales oportunidades de participar en el MRLPP. Envíe una Solicitud de acomodación razonable tan pronto como pueda para evitar retrasos en el proceso de reclamaciones.

Mobilehome Residency Law Handbook — Includes: applicable California code sections of law (Civil Code, Elections Code, Vehicle Code, and Health and Safety Code), frequently asked questions, and community resources.

For previous versions of the Mobilehome Residency Law Handbook, please visit California Senate Select Committee on Manufactured Home Communities.

Legal Aid and County Community Resources (PDF) — Provides local resources within your county.

Information Bulletin 2018-03 (PDF) — Find information on the implementation of the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program.

Information Bulletin 2021-05 (PDF) — Find information on the applicability of the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program to recreational vehicles located inside of parks.

Assembly Bill 3066, Statutes of 2018 (PDF) — For more information on the Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Act.

Visit California Department of Real Estate's California Tenants to view A Guide to Residential Tenants' and Landlords' Rights and Responsibilities